Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)

palms-with-partly-cloudy-skies.jpg

All research protocols that propose the use of recombinant DNA must receive prior approval from the Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC). If you have questions, please contact Director, Research Compliance Ellen Kapsalis, Ph.D.

University of Miami SARS-CoV-2 (COVID-19) Research Laboratory Biosafety Guidelines

In keeping with NIH and CDC guidance, the Institutional Biosafety Committee and Environmental, Health and Safety are requiring that all research with live (isolated) SARS-CoV-2 virus be performed at BL3. There are currently no BL3 facilities at the University of Miami; therefore, this research is not authorized at the University.

All other work involving SARS-CoV-2, including clinical specimens and use of recombinant/synthetic nucleic acids, must be registered as per the attached table, Research Laboratory Biosafety Guidelines. Projects involving the use of recombinant/synthetic nucleic acids from SARS-CoV-2 will also require IBC approval. Project approvals will detail the required containment practices for the proposed work.

2021 IBC Meeting Dates and Submission Deadlines

Submission Deadlines Meeting Dates
Monday, January 6, 2021 Thursday, January 21, 2021
Wednesday, February 3, 2021 Thursday, February 18, 2021
Wednesday, March 3, 2021 Thursday, March 18, 2021
Wednesday, March 31, 2021 Thursday, April 15, 2021
Wednesday, May 5, 2021 Thursday, May 20, 2021
Wednesday, June 2, 2021 Thursday, June 17, 2021
Wednesday,  June 30, 2021 Thursday, July 15, 2021
Wednesday, August 4, 2021 Thursday, August 19, 2021
Wednesday, September 1, 2021 Thursday, September 16, 2021
Wednesday, October 6, 2021 Thursday, October 21, 2021
Wednesday, November 3, 2021 Thursday, November 18, 2021
Wednesday, December 1, 2021 Thursday, December 16, 2021
Wednesday, January 5, 2022 Thursday, January 20, 2022